Home Q&A How Many States Are There in India?

How Many States Are There in India?

states in india

There are 28 states and 8 union territories in India.

The three new states formed in November 2000, namely Uttaranchal, Jharkhand and Chattisgarh.

On the 5th of August 2020, State J&K converted into two union territories Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh by govt. of India.

The administrative power and responsibilities of the country are divided among the central government and various units in the form of states and union territories.

Sates in India

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam
  4. Bihar
  5. Chattisgarh
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Jharkhand
  11. Karnataka
  12. Kerala
  13. Madhya Pradesh
  14. Maharashtra
  15. Manipur
  16. Meghalaya
  17. Mizoram
  18. Nagaland
  19. Odisha
  20. Punjab
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Sikkim
  23. Tamil Naidu
  24. Telangana
  25. Tripura
  26. Uttar Pradesh
  27. Uttrakhand
  28. West Bengal

Union Territories

Union Territories are small administrative units directly under the control of the central government. It has a lieutenant governor as an administrator who is a representative of the president and is appointed by the central government.

Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha, except Delhi and Puducherry.

Union Territories in India

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra, Nagar, Haveli, Damar, and Diu
  4. Delhi
  5. Jammu and Kashmir
  6. Ladakh
  7. Lakshadweep
  8. Puducherry

Area wise Rajasthan is the biggest state (342,239 sq. km) and Goa is the smallest (3,702 sq. km)

Population Wise Uttar Pardesh is the most populous state in India and Sikkim the least.

India the second most populous and seventh-largest country (area-wise) in the world.

Exit mobile version